Who Needs a License?
Florida has plenty of great fishing opportunities around the state for both freshwater and saltwater anglers. But before casting the first line, many fishermen first need to purchase a fishing license from Florida’s Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission. Hunters must complete a hunter safety course before they can be issued a hunting license. Otherwise, getting caught fishing or hunting without a license can lead to fines. Refusing to pay the fine or failure to appear before a county court could lead to heavier fines and possibly jail time.
Those exempt from obtaining a fishing or hunting license include:
- Seniors over 65
- Children under 16 years old
- Anyone on free fishing days
- Fishing from a licensed charter, guide or party boat
- Fishing from a boat with an operator that has a valid fishing license
People who may need a license include:
- Anyone age 16 to 65 years old
- Someone passively participating in fishing or hunting, such as baiting hooks or setting decoys
Where to Get Florida Fishing & Hunting Licenses
There are several options when looking to buy a license. They can be purchased online, at retail stores that sell hunting and fishing gear, at bait and tackle stores, by phone, and at the county tax collector’s offices. A basic freshwater, saltwater, and hunting license starts at $17 a year and is good for one year from the date of issuance.
Where Does the Money Go?
All license fees are returned to the public in the form of wildlife conservation. The money is used to build and repair docks, support saltwater and freshwater fisheries and hatcheries, stock fish, build artificial reefs, support youth fishing clinics, protection for habitats, and much more.
The state encourages everyone, even those who don’t fish or hunt, to buy a license to help support Florida’s wildlife programs that benefit everyone who loves the outdoors.
Being Licensed to Sell Licenses
Those who sell Florida fishing and hunting licenses are subagents for the Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission. Subagents must be licensed by the Commission, or face a second-degree misdemeanor charge for selling without a license. Licensing regulations include:
- May only sell at specific locations within the county and in states contiguous to Florida
- May charge a fee of 50 cents for each license or permit sold
- May not charge a fee for shoreline licenses, but may retain 50 cents from other license proceeds due to the Commission
- Must submit payment and report sales to the Commission at least monthly
- Must maintain records of all permits and licenses sold
- Must report all stolen licenses and permits
- Must submit to the Commission all unissued stamps by July 15
- Must obtain a $1,000 surety bond
What is a Surety Bond?
Subagents who sell Florida Fish & Wildlife licenses must obtain a surety bond for $1,000. A bond protects the public with a guarantee that the subagent will follow the state’s laws and regulations. They must properly collect, handle and transfer funds to the Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission. In lieu of a bond, a subagent may obtain another type of security. If a subagent does not follow proper procedures, a claim can be made against the bond.
How Do I Get Bonded?
If you want to sell Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission Licenses, let SuretyGroup.com help you get bonded. Our Surety Bond Specialists are here to help. Contact us for a free, no-obligation quote. Email email@example.com, or call 844-432-6637.
SuretyGroup.com – Your Online Bond Provider.
Great Rates. Solid Advice. Quick Solutions.